Your Say

  • Rarely can you witness such an array of passion, discipline and energy. The lifeforce that you feel from the stage is enough to blow you out of your seat! It’s such a personal experience that you leave feeling a connection with each one of the performers and an enormous respect for their gifted choreographer X

    Kim Thompson, 4th April 2012

  • I have to admit I was slightly apprehensive before the show as I thought when you’ve seen one street dance you’ve seen it all. However Elektro Kif offer something quite different; an urban street dance style coined as electro in 2006. Accompanied by a varied soundtrack, well thought out props and some of the best theatre and contemporary dance I have ever seen, the eight piece dance troop from Paris really did go all out for the last stop of their UK tour.

    Arriving at the Hall for Cornwall as there last stop on the two month UK tour, the dance troop by no means showed any signs of tiredness in the 70 minute performance.

    Established as ‘stunning street dance meets theater’ the show consisted of group performances where the dancers would show a mix of break beat, disco and contemporary dance moves, as well as a stunning scene which allows the performance to slow down a pace where street meets ballet. The dancers were also able to show off their own moves in the ending sequence when choreographer Blanca Li lets them have freedom to dance. Each scene was performed flawlessly and the eight piece group showed no signs that this was there last show. The fast, energetic and exciting performance was all accompanied perfectly with a soundtrack composed by Tao Gutierrez. The soundtrack mixed techno, house, afrobeat, classical and a selection of sound effects throughout.

    It is the ease with which the group move seamlessly around the stage and in-between the school chairs and tables that held the audiences attention. The show is about friendship, rivalries, hopes and fears all told beautifully through each different character. The show mixes humor with emotion in the beautifully crafted fight scene.

    It is the scene where the all male group re-enact a basketball game that shows their skills and talent to work flawlessly as a group. As they bounce and dunk an invisible ball around the court the audience are left memorized and laughing as cheeky chap Cerizz shows his toned chest and tricks on the other players. A real test of the groups strengths to perform as one, this scene showed that perfectly; immaculate choreography by Blanca Li.

    As the energetic, colorful and beautifully crafted show came to an end the dance troop showed their own freestyle moves in the only point during the performance where this is allowed. The crowd joined in by clapping and cheering which only jeered the troop on more. This was a chance to see the creativity each member possessed and was a great end to fantastic mixed show of dance theatre.

    I left with my first apprehensions gone, this really wasn’t just another street dance but one of the best crafted and inspiring shows I have ever seen. The cool and relaxed nature on the stage touched the elders and youngsters in the auidence and showed a real sense of passion the troop must have for music and dance.

    Emily Smith, 3rd April 2012

  • I went to see you last night at the hall for cornwall and as a dancer myself i have to say i have never seen such talented and uplifting dancers in all my life. I would definatley recomend them to anyone who enjoys fun,energetic and amazing performences!It really took my breath away! xx

    Chloe Keniston, 31st March 2012

  • Caught Elektro Kif at the Oxford Playhouse last night and was blown away by the sheer energy, enthusiasm, innovation and vitality of this hugely compelling dance group. A must see! One of the best shows I’ve ever seen.

    Katherine MacAlister - Oxford Mail, 29th March 2012

  • Saw Elektro Kif in Newcastle and it was hands down the best dance production I’ve ever seen. Absolutely flawless perfection!

    Cat Hancock, 29th March 2012

  • A fabulous celebration of the unsquashable and beautiful vitality of youth – like nature it pushes through no matter how we try to hold it back. Every school should be sending kids to this show!

    Lizzie Overton, 10th March 2012

  • You guys are taking the world by storm! Just seen you at Brighton Dome, awesome, inspiring, beautiful. Enjoy the adoration, you deserve it! Sarla

    Sarla, 10th March 2012

  • Absolutely blown away by Elektro Kif – just incredible. I haven’t enjoyed myself like that in ages. Cannot wait to see them again

    Carly Ince, 4th March 2012

  • Absolutely blown away by Elektro Kif – incredible performances, so much energy!

    Full review on my blog: http://katiebrownonculture.blogspot.com/2012/02/je-kiffe-elektro-kif-sherman-cymru.html

    Katie Brown, 25th February 2012

  • Saw the show at Alhambra in Bradford last nite- awesome!! Totally different to shows that I usually see that involve street dancing. Fantastic choreo – especially loved the dance with ‘Crazy’ and ‘Big Jay’ after the basketball game! xx

    Dolly, 20th February 2012

  • Saw the show at Alhambra in Bardsford last nite- awesome!! Totally different to shows that I usually see that involve street dancing. Fantastic choreo – especially loved the dance with ‘Crazy’ and ‘Big Jay’ after the basketball game! xx

    Dolly, 20th February 2012

  • Loved Elektro Kif The Lowry tonight. Amazing and so uplifting! Go see!

    Charlotte Pritchard, 16th February 2012

  • The Lowry show tonight was fantastic!!! Many congrats to the team!! Love, love, love!!!! xxx

    Penni Tovey, 16th February 2012

  • Amazing show…..dancers were superbe!
    Posted my own wee review here:
    http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1752642

    Andy K, 16th February 2012

  • Oh. My. God. elektrokif were AMAZING!!!!! :)

    Amelia Terrance, 15th February 2012

  • Amazing night of dance Sheffield Lyceum with ElektroKif. Never seen anything quite as good. Only one more night. Go see!

    Dan Bates, 15th February 2012

  • ElektroKif absoultely brilliant show..so much grace,passion,humour,control and energy.loved it!!!! thank you for coming to Sheffield!

    Alice Turner, 15th February 2012

  • Thank you to Blanca Li Dance Company for superb performance of Elektro Kif and for a fascinating Anglo-French post-show chat

    Trisha Cooper, 15th February 2012

  • Elektro Kif were amazing tonight!!

    Laura Kemp, 15th February 2012

  • ElektroKif are hot hot hot..I will definitely be checking you guys out again… That was one unique awesome show :-)

    Joanna Dawn, 15th February 2012

  • ElektroKif loved the show tonight! Especially the duet- so graceful! Verdict of Frances aged 10 ‘cooool – can we learn that?’ :)

    Estelle Hall, 15th February 2012

  • ElektroKif Last nights show was absolutely fantastic – The only complaint I have is that it left me wanting to see it again and again!

    Scuba Monkey, 15th February 2012

  • ElektroKif Please, please, please come back to Sheffield again -Everything about this production was just brilliant! Thank you so much :)

    Scuba Monkey, 15th February 2012

  • ElektroKif, Was NextLevel/Awesome! Can’t believe I watched the Premier!

    Timothy Bei, 15th February 2012

  • First Performance down!! Was Dope!! The Elektrokif Dancers are dopee and funny!! We just took them for their first ever Nandos!!!

    Nu Projeks, 15th February 2012

  • Just been to see ElektroKif, these guys are amazing!

    Molly Mulhaire, 15th February 2012

  • Really enjoyed Elektrokif tonight at Nottingham Playhouse. Witty, energetic and creative performance. Went home grinning to myself!

    Kathleen, 15th February 2012

  • ElektroKif were SICK tonightt… thanks to them i will never give up!

    Aleks, 15th February 2012

  • ElektroKif Loved the African dance moves you performed to Electronic Music. Wanted to see more! Great energy and humour from u all.

    Rastarella Falade, 15th February 2012

  • Vibrant, energetic, fun-filled performance by ElektroKif last night Nottingham Playhouse.

    New Perspectives, 15th February 2012

  • Saw ElectroKif last night in Nottingham. Wonderful show, would be great for Valentine’s night out!

    Kathleen Hooper, 15th February 2012

  • Well, ElektroKif were all kinds of amazing last night. Fantastic show!! Thanks

    Emily Webber, 15th February 2012

  • Last night’s show at Nottingham Playhouse was AMAZING! I can’t believe the energy of these guys. They are really fit!

    Tiffany, 14th February 2012

  • Yesterday was amazing in Sheffield!! loved the cheating scene where he lifted up his desk to show everyone the answers and the bit where the guy at the front fell of his chair!! Epic show!

    Horan, 12th February 2012

  • Loved the performance on Friday 10th. Could have watched more! Good luck with the rest of your tour boys.

    Glenys, 11th February 2012

  • Well done Elektro Kif on your opening night. Can’t wait to catch the show in London

    Raf, 11th February 2012